Life of Stay

I had heard that he would leave us: depart this earth. I thought of her: how would she stay? It was dawning on me as I pushed the topic to the back of my mind that whatever words he last spoke to me, the conversations we had, the food we ate and the company we kept would be the last true moment of his time and our time together.

Tremors to my chest replaced the tears that wouldn’t come. Thoughts of her eyes holding back memories and her shaky hands lifting her glasses to wipe her tired eyes were the true pangs in my heart. Guilt rose within me: why weren’t my thoughts with the man I would not see again, but instead with the woman that would live on?

She would wake to see another day, walk with able body, breathe with healthy lungs but would not love with the same heart. For it would die with him.

Leave a Reply

